xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
ghostrider

My First Php Tutorial What is PHP?

This is my first attempt at writing a PHP tutorial. Its from a while ago. What do you guys think?

Intro To PHP

Tutorial 1 - What is PHP?

Released 2/20/07

By Chris Feilbach aka GhostRider

Contact Info:

E-mail: assembler7@gmail.com

AIM: emptybinder78

Yahoo: drunkonmarshmellows

Hello, and thank you for choosing my tutorial. If you are completely new to PHP, this tutorial will teach you all the basics, and if you are not it will serve as an excellent reference for you. I will release the next section of my tutorial every 1 to 2 weeks. All of the basics will be covered; in this set of tutorials you will learn everything a PHP coder needs to know, including how to use MySQL (a database server), and how to handle data from forms. If you want to learn about something in particular, go ahead and contact me and I will see what I can do. You also should contact me if you have any questions about anything I write in my tutorials.

You should know HTML before you read my tutorial. If you don't PHP has no use to you. Go learn it and then come back. It does not take long to learn how. http://www.w3schools.com/ is a great resource.

PHP stands for Hypertext Preprocessor, which is a bunch of big words that means it runs a script, or a bunch of PHP that you write, and then outputs something to the person viewing your web page. PHP is very powerful; it can output more than just HTML. You can also create images, and various other things using PHP and output them to your user's browser.

PHP is a server-side application, meaning that all of the processing is done on the server, or the computer that sends the data to your user. Things such as HTML and JavaScript are client-side applications, meaning that the code is sent to the computer viewing it and then processed. The fact that PHP is server-side means that any computer with a web browser can view its output.