xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
asomormridul

Pyrated Operating System

I am using pyrated Operating System. Actually, I have little knowledge on computers and at the time of purchased I selected to go with assembled desktop rather than going for a branded one. The person supplying me the computers does not have a genuine set of softwares, as it is common at my place of stay. So, now I am using the pyrated operating system (Windows XP - pack2). What bothers me is that I can't go for live updates of softwares when I am online. So, am I at a risk of damaging my computer? I have Avast as antivirus (free edition) and Ad Aware SE personal for spywares. I would love to know your suggestions and comment.

I am aware of your situation asomormridul. A lot of people are using pirated OSes without even knowing it. And they are obviously missing out on the updates. Some critical updates from Microsoft cannot be provided by antivirus programs so your system could be at risk. My suggestions to you are:1) Since you cant purchase a legal copy of XP anymore, try getting a copy of Windows Vista, or better still, wait till Windows 7 is released in October. Then you can get the updates from Microsoft and keep your computer safe.2) A better option would be to install Linux on your system, which is completely FREE and is virus-proof. You wouldn't need to get worried about damaging your system while you're using Linux, because it's virtually indestructible (of course if you go looking for trouble you will get it!)