HOME       >>       Science and Technology

New Planet Discovered! 2003UB313


"Leading astronomers declared Thursday that Pluto is no longer a planet under historic new guidelines that downsize the solar system from nine planets to eight. "
"The decision on Pluto at a conference of 2,500 astronomers from 75 countries was a dramatic shift from just a week ago, when the group's leaders floated a proposal that would have reaffirmed Pluto's planetary status and made planets of its largest moon and two other objects.

That plan proved highly unpopular, splitting astronomers into factions and triggering days of sometimes combative debate that led to Pluto's undoing. In the end, only about 300 astronomers cast ballots

Very scientific - to decide by votes

So, finally what does it come to ? No eccentrics allowed in sun's orbit?
Just because it is the eccentric one, who is sometimes 8th and sometimes 9th around the sun; and it goes through the backyard and front of other planets' which has not been cleared .

Now for some Indian background, in Indian astrology Neptune and Pluto have been named Varuna and Yama. (Yama is the god of death - comes through the backdoor)

Varuna and Yama are digpals, guardians of two of the eight digs (directions) in Indian mythology.

The nine planets (grahas) according to Indian mythology and astrology are: Surya, Chandra, Mangala, Budha, Guru (or Brihaspati), Shukra, Shani, Rahu and Ketu. Celestial objects that move around (unlike stars, which are stationary in relation to each other) and do not twinkle were called grahas. Each graha was assigned a god as its adhipati. (Rahu and Ketu, though asuras by birth, partook of the amrut through guile and became immortals like the devas. They are not adhipatis of any visible celestial objects but periodially consume and conceal the two largest grahas in retaliation for their sneaking to Vishnu of their deception.)

Until the invention of the telescope by Galileo, only the planets upto Saturn were visible to the naked eye and only these were described as planets by various civilizations. Uranus, it is said, can be seen with the naked eye as a green speck, under favorable conditions. However, it generally twinkles a bit like stars.

Anyways - now we've just eight planets - all the astrologists have some major re-learning to do and predictions to re-write !

JohnDa the FunDa

Pages :-

Page 1Page 2


Xisto.com offers Free Web Hosting to its Members for their participation in this Community. We moderate all content posted here but we cannot warrant full correctness of all content. While using this site, you agree to have read and accepted our terms of use, cookie and privacy policy. Copyright 2001-2019 by Xisto Corporation. All Rights Reserved.