xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
sparkx

Should I Bother Switching To C++?

I am an intermediate Java programmer but was disappointed to learn that my 3D application has lots of downsides simply because I used java to build it. My question is would it be worth learning C++ so I could fix this problems? Some issues I have with Java include:From what I have heard it is very slow in comparison.It can be decompiled almost exactly.It isn't good for large programs (like mine).Do you think switching to c++ would be worth my time or is there a better way? I know that some people convert java to c++ with software but I didn't know how reliable that was and if such software even exists. Some of the major reasons I use Java are so my program will work on most computers, which would make a cross-compiler handy. I also like that the programs are portable but I know you can make portable applications using C++.Were would be a good place to start learning 3D c++? Are there any good libraries that could be downloaded and modified (open source) for object loaders or will I need to make all again in c++? If you could please list a few websites that could get me started.Thanks,SparkxNote: I finally found out that if you press <shift> + <enter> you don't get the double space glitch while using Opera ;)

My own opinion is that you should be able to write down C++ programs, because if you want to write programs for big profession applications involving big databases and a lot of simultaneous users, your program has to be fast with few ressources, so it has to be written in C or C++.So, you have to learn. Of course, doing so you invest for future, and there is no guarantee that your next boss will give you more money as I promiss. But the probability is 99.99%.RegardsYordan