xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
rob86

I Am Now A Beginner Drummer.

I recently purchased a Yamaha DTXplorer Electronic Drum Kit. I went with an electronic kit for a few reasons, namely quiet practicing, compactness, and I happen to like electronic gadgets. It comes with a ride cymbal, crash cymbal, three toms, one snare, hi hat, hi-hat controller, and bass pedal. I'm impressed with it, it seems to be pretty good. It's a bit strange why they didnt make the hi-hat a cymbal pad instead of a round drum pad, but I guess it is the most affordable model, so I can't expect it to compare to the higher end Yamaha's or Rolands. Some day, I'd love to have a high-end electronic kit, but the DTXplorer seems to be a great value for a beginner. I haven't tried out the sound quality much, I just have it hooked up to computer speakers (yuck, I know, give me a chance to buy some adapters to amp it up!) but I imagine it will sound pretty good loud with some reverb. I really have no idea how to play it though. Can anyone tell me some beginner tips? Like, the correct way to hold the flippin' sticks? I'm not sure if I should hold them like I'm going to throw them across the room, or hold them like I'm in some marching band. I thought I could get away without a drum throne - Hey, I'm a n00b I thought, why do I need a fancy chair? - so I used a wooden stool that was about an inch too high for me (I could barely control the bass and high hat). Now my neck and back are so sore I can hardly move my head, and my foot goes numb whenever I play for more than 15 minutes. The moral of the story is simple, buy a damn throne.

Yes, buy a damn throne, a good one here costs about 50 . It's a good kit. One thing to remind you of tho, you should first start playing drums and then decide if you want to buy a kit. Because if you decide you don't like playing them, you have wasted your money.

Anyway, here's a tutorial to teach you match grip:
http://forums.xisto.com/no_longer_exists/