xisto Community
SamiFX

I'm New To Asp.net How do I start?

Hello; I'm new to ASP.NET and I want to learn it , I have 'Microsoft Visual Studio 2005' installed on my computer and I found it very hard to understand and I don't know how to start learning ASP.NET... so what do you recommand for me to learn it step bye step and if you know some good tutorial websites ..please post them here.. thanks

I'm currently learning ASP.NET too. If you have any problems with ASP.NET I suggest you can try out their official forum --> http://forums.asp.net/

I can answer some basic question here though, so if you have some simple question you can ask me.. I use VB.NET instead of C# btw..

Actually, do you have any experience on programming? If not, you may have to learn the fundamental knowledge before you proceed to ASP.NET.In fact, using ASP.NET is simple, but mastering it is not so easy.There are many different step by step tutorial in the internet. You can even find such tutorial in the web site of Microsoft.So, what are difficult to understand?

the best source for learning ASP.NET is http://forums.xisto.com/no_longer_exists/

ASP.NET is simple to learn as there are ready built components for almost all the tasks. All you need to do is get the required component and code the action that is need to be preformed on that component. You can enter most of the component properties from the properties dialog box. If you've the basic understanding of Object Oriented programming, then it will be very easier to learn.

Unlike PHP where we hard code for all tasks, ASP.NET provides a set of pre-built components and a huge number of other third-party components that can perform the task. At most of the cases the programmer needs to code only for the actions to be taken and the programing logic. You need not code for any components unless you are required a custom component.

If you are an expert in PHP, then you can code ASP.NET sites using PHP insted of C# or VB.NET.