xisto Community
tyrant_dictator

So I Work In A Hotel Im a Hotel Engineer....

So the best thing, I run into volleyball teams, make pot smokers paranoid (Like I'll call the cops) and generally get to see all sorts of crazy going ons, Does anyone have any fun stories about hotel stays/employment? I'd like to see that I am not the only one.....

What exactly is a "hotel engineer"?I'm not trying to offend anyone here but one of my pet peeves are people calling themselves engineers when they aren't. I really hate politically correct terms and euphemisms. I know that most people just use job titles that are consistent with the industry but it bother me.For example, a "sanitation engineer" is not an engineer when he/she collects garbage or cleans washrooms. A "sanitation engineer" that does environmental studies, develops/maintains water purification systems, etc. is an engineer.Again, I'm not trying to put anyone down. I just think that if your job is a garbage man, there is no shame in saying "I am a garbage man". In fact, the average wage of a garbage man is higher than the wages of most real engineers.

What exactly is a "hotel engineer"?

I'm not trying to offend anyone here but one of my pet peeves are people calling themselves engineers when they aren't.  I really hate politically correct terms and euphemisms.  I know that most people just use job titles that are consistent with the industry but it bother me.

For example, a "sanitation engineer" is not an engineer when he/she collects garbage or cleans washrooms.  A "sanitation engineer" that does environmental studies, develops/maintains water purification systems, etc. is an engineer.

Again, I'm not trying to put anyone down.  I just think that if your job is a garbage man, there is no shame in saying "I am a garbage man".  In fact, the average wage of a garbage man is higher than the wages of most real engineers.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>