HOME       >>       Science and Technology

The Mentos And Diet Coke Reaction

vhortex

Doesn't explain WHY it happens in Diet Coke and not in Regular Coke. I'm not a pop expert, but what is the difference between regular and diet?? That difference could be the reason why it erupts!

Also, who on earth thought of putting MENTOS in DIET COKE?? I never would think of something as crazy as that...

[N]F

that would be me..

me and me alone..

i wont waste any mentos moments that i can have. all of them..

illini319

I didn't quite realize that it was unique to diet coke versus coke. perhaps the sugars greatly stabilize the CO2; something which aspartame cannot replace? clearly, if there is a difference in the way mentos reacts with coke versus diet coke then it must lie in the differences of their ingredients (or in their amounts). if someone wants to test this, try 7up versus diet 7up. would this change the game? what about pepsi?

abhiram

What? It doesn't happen with regular coke? Wierd. I was hoping of trying this out pretty soon, but now I've got to hunt for diet coke cause it isn't all that easily available near my home.

vhortex

did anyone tried that on regular coke?i read some letters and comments months ago that they also work on other kind of soda drinks such as regular coke and even pepsi..i never tried to verify that, put simply.. i was lazy to even try if it will work..

illini319

well let all of us know once someone tries this with a non-diet soda. heck go purist. Try club soda! that should be different. also... add just a little bit of soap before you add the mentos. make sure the soap is fully dispersed and when you mix it try not to make too many bubbles or release too much CO2. The soap may change the chemistry.... Let us know what you find!

Grafitti

Did you know the guys who made the mentos video netted at least $30,000? That's from one website.
here's an article on it from Silicon Valley.com