xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
uNiT

Problems With Comcast

Has anyone else been having problems with comcast modems as of lately? I've been doing tech support for roughly two years now, and one of my friends is unable to connect to his wireless d-link router. I came over and had a look at it, and everything seemed fine for the most part, except the fact that the connection wasn't working. After about half an hour of trying different methods of resetting, replugging, ect., i figured the d-link router was bad. So I brought it to my house and hooked it up with my westell modem, and it worked perfectly fine. Leaving their comcast modem the only possible cause. The modem is fairly new, and they didn't pay the extra for the warranty on it, so replacement is a last resort. I was wondering if anyone here might have found a fix for this?

Remember that not all cable modems work on their cable system. For example, I had a new Motorola modem that my ISP issued us and I installed it. It never worked as the modem never picked up the signal. Apparently, the Motorola modem doesn't work with the cables in my house so they gave me a Scientific Atlanta modem. My ISP is Rogers Communications Inc.xboxrulz