xisto Community
yeh

Difference Between OpenOffice Write And MS Word Any differences in feature and saved documents that I should know abou

Hi... I'm new to Open Office. And i don't rate myself as an advanced user of Microsoft Word. Just know enough to write whatever documents that I want to. So the question now is, are there any differences in features between the two? Some of you might say this is a redundant question since I'm not an advanced user of Microsoft Word in the first place, but hey... I just want to know. And how about saved documents in Open Office Write? Can those documents be opened in the intended format in Microsoft Word? And lastly, if you have ever encountered any problems with Open Office and its compatibility with Microsoft Word, please feel free to post it here. I would love to know about it. PS: I'm referring to the new Open Office, 2.0. As for Microsoft Word, I'm referring to all versions since some older versions are still in used.

Well as far as you would notice probably the only differences would be cosmetic. While some of the more advanced features are either handled differently or non-existent in one or the other (I don't have any examples of this off the top of my head...) all the basics are there in both. Open Office might hide some menu items in different locations, but otherwise it can do most of the things Office can and if you just use it for basic things then it would easily be able to do them all.As far as cross compatibility, I've opened documents between the two before and other then a few of my more complex formatting choices being slightly skewed they were the same in either program.Frankly I can't imagine you having any issues since you just use it for the basics. If cross compatibility is a huge issue you could always try saving in Open Office as a format that is standard cross platform and furthur reduce chances of confusion between programs.