xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
seez

The Point Of Some Subjects In School Is there one?

I am not a nerd but I have to say that in ways I enjoy school. I like my school and my teachers. Learning isn't always that bad, and I don't dread school.However, I wonder sometimes if there is a point to some of the subjects taught. For example, with history. Now I am a good student in history and make straight A's in history. However: if you are applying for a job as a store clerk, why do you need to know about the Revolutionary War?And if you have spent years in Medical School and are a doctor, a heart surgeon, then why do you need to know how to play Handbells??Please post what you think.

post-22568-1175991761_thumb.jpg

Edited by seez (see edit history)

Okay, this is true, and, actually, if you're not planning on going on to college, you really shouldn't even be in high school - it's be better to be starting an apprenticeship or something. But if you're going into college,1) You likely don't know what you plan to do yet and therefore should be exposed to a variety of fields2) By taking history classes you have more of a background to understanding current events, assuming you're not the typical apathetic american or whatever. When someone mentions the vietnam war you should know what they're talking about.3) Personally, I think if you're not planning on going into a scientific field, math above geometry isn't really going to be useful, so... fwah.4) Don't say you're not a nerd, because if you say that that means you probably are and just don't want to be. Don't try to be something you're not, because that's way worse than being dorky. And just because you enjoy school doesn't mean you're a nerd anyways. I like school because I get to have fun with friends.