xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
theillestmc12

Free Hosting Means A Free Website Too?

hi guys.. im really really stupid..im just wondering.. see im still a noob and i thought free hosting only means free webspace...does it??i dont even know haha..well any ways.can i make a website with Xisto freehosting....when i go to my website..it only shows my cpanel...how do i start linking stuff so i can make my own homepage...???please help me...point me the right way..i tried to search in the forums but i cant find any help..well thx :-Dthx thx thx so mucho!

After reviewing your hosting, I realized that your website is wow.astahost.com? Is that correct? I'm assuming that OpaQue approved your hosting request, judging by your [HOSTED] sign.Login to your cPanel and up load all necessary files, such as index.htm (or .html .php etc) and other homepage associated files and you are on your way. Just remember that you are to upload them into your /public_html folder.And when you type your requested and given domain name (wow.astahost.com) you are now part of this web called internet. LOL.Think of hosting this way: in order for your post office to deliver your mail or receive mail from your credit card company (for example) you need a mailing address. And you receive them in your mailbox and you store them in your home. Hosting is like your home where all neat stuffs are stored. You can even think of it as a hard drive space for the website. And the mailing address where a credit card company is sending your statement is like your website address or a.k.a. domain name. Domain name can be dedicated or shared but we'll get into that later. Without a domain name your homepage cannot be viewed. Without a hosting plan your domain name has nothing to show off.Welcome to Xisto and be sure to take the time to review TOS and forum rules. Cheers :P