xisto Community
eich

Ipad And Linux

Hello All.

I have an first generation iPad that I acquired and had been modified. Also, on my desktop and netbook, they are both running Linux Mint. I'm relatively new to Linux (I've been using it for the past six months). When I was running Windows XP, I used an app called iFunbox to access my iPad to dump movies, other videos, music, photos, etc. on to it. Basically I could see the entire directory structure from iFunbox. I'm looking for an app for Linux that does the same thing an alternative way to get into the iPad from my Linux boxes. (i.e. ftp, sftp, etc.). Does anyone know of a way I can do this over the network or directly by plugging it in to the PC? I would appreciate any help. If there is any info you need, feel free to ask. Thanks.

As said above, here's what I have:

iPad: First generation iPad

Desktop: Running Mint Linux 14.0

Netbook: Running Mint Linux 14.0

Hello All.

I figured out a way to access all of the directories in iOS. At least I believe it's all of them. There may be some hidden ones in there, but I have no idea. Anyhow, I followed this person's directions from his website (URL is below) and I got right in, no problem. Basically, if you already have a jailbroken iPad, you have to install OpenSSH on your iPad. Then remote in through Putty (if in Windows) or the Terminal (if in Linux) and SSH into the iPad with the default root password and change it. Once change, then you can access the iPad with a FTP app of your choice that supports SFTP (SSH File Transfer Protocol). Login with root and the password you changed it too and you now have full access to the iPad. Check out the guys website for better details. Mods, if you like you can close this discussion.

http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/configure-ipad-ftp-server-cydia/