xisto Community
Herbert1405241469

Men Of War review

I was looking for a real time strategy game where I could command troops through realistic combat, and picked up Men of War after seeing some youtube videos and reading reviews... I've gotten through a few levels, and here's what I think thus far...First of all, the game interface holds a lot of different buttons, and I'm sure I don't even know half of them, but overall the game seems pretty intuitive. If you're used to micromanaging in a RTS, then you shouldn't have a lot of trouble here. I've played games in the Total War series, so I have some experience with this type of combat.The first level they put you in is HARD. Even on "easy" mode, they force you to take 4 guys in a tank to kill an entire town full of Germans, followed by a whole supply line of trucks, tanks, and motorcycles of Germans... if your tank takes too much damage and your engine fails, it's game over and you have to reload from your last check point. The mission after that, you have a whole base filled with Russians you can control, and you are assaulted by waves of Germans you have to fend off until they finish loading supplies onto a train, indicated by a percentage ticker at the top of the screen. This takes about a half hour of real time (just guessing) so the missions themselves take a long while, and you really need to focus on strategy to survive.The missions themselves, while hard, are very engaging and varied. It's not like Battlefield 2 where you have to sit and capture control points, every level, for the entire game... There are objectives in Men of War that help push the game forward and keep it fresh.As for graphics, the game runs very smoothly on my 3ghz core 2 duo, with a GeForce GTX 260, and 2 gb RAM. The buildings and environment is all destructible, which is nice. I like the fact that if I shoot a forest with a barrage of missiles, the trees will be blown down, rather than being static. Just the same goes for buildings. If