xisto Community
ljj

Anyone Use A Canon Rebel?

We just moved to Colorado and am considering buying my wife a Cannon Rebel. Aside from my Cannon Powershot I have very little experience with digital photography. How closely do these types of cameras compare to 35mm? Will a 35mm lenses work on the Rebel or do they request special ones? Thanks to all.

Only some of the most expensive Cannon reflex digital cameras are able to use cannon lenses.In order to see how a digital camera compares to a 35mm one, have a look it if mentions the F-aperture and the speeds. If you see F2.8 to F11 aperture and 1/20 sec to 1/1000 sec speed you see that it can compare to a 35mm camera.Also the second thing : enter a shop, and ask to hold it in your hands, to see how heavy you feel it. And look inside the ocular, can you see something without powering up ? And also loot how you see inside the ocular : usually looking inside a 35mm lens, ou see like with you bare eyes. If it's smaller or bigger without acting the zoom or the fisheye, this thing will never compare to a 35mm camera.Also have a look it it has the standard three modes : full automatic, aperture and speed. And if you see a "fully manual" mode, you really have a true camera. But then, you will probably pay 2000 dollars for it.