xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
rob86

Need Help With Midi -> Usb On Pc MIDI Audio recording

I'm having trouble connecting my MIDI stuff to my computer. I've never used MIDI before. I have an E-mu MIDI-USB interface. It got decent reviews saying it worked latency free but it is the cheapest midi/usb interface I could find. I've tried two things (Yamaha PSR Keyboard, Yamaha Electronic Drums) and both have very bad latency. I've tried on two computers, one an older AMD ATHLON 3200 processor and one a newer Quad-Core. Both have similarily bad latency. I'll play a pre-recorded drum track on either the PSR keyboard or the Drums to test it and it will sound completely unrecognizable when played back live (or recorded) in FL Studio. I thought I was supposed to adjust the buffer but even at the maximum setting (in millisecond) it was unrecognizable. It seems to work ok (with acceptable latency) when playing slower stuff (playing a chord or a few notes on keyboard) but faster stuff like a full piano song or drum track is unintelligible, out of time noise.Any advice? Surely one of my computers if not both should be enough to handle recording a simple track?

Could you explain what sound card your PCs use, apart from the Emu MIDI interface?Also, what model MIDI interface is it?The latency could be due to your sound card itself.Does it have ASIO drivers?Are you using USB 1.xx or 2.0?Please provide a bit more information about your PC and the interface and it might be possible to give you some help to get the latency down.