xisto Community
iGuest

Problem Uploading New Site With Ftp Old data, error messages, the works Its just not my day

Let me briefly explain the situation, then the problems that have arisen from it. I created/uploaded a website for a book I'd written using Dreamweaver 8 for Windows (yes, I'm one of THEM), and have recently gone through to change it. Everything went swimmingly until I tried uploading the thing, then the problems started. While I've worked with Dreamweaver quite a bit, I'm brand new to the ftp side of things, so everything I do is completely off-the-cuff.The most current issue(s): After finally wading through a tangle of problems and managing to connect to the server with Dreamweaver, I uploaded the site. The upload was successful. However, when I checked it out online, the old one was still in place. So I let it sit for an hour or so, thinking maybe it had to have some time to switch over, then when nothing changed I tried it again. Same thing. I finally realized I had never removed the old site from the server, so I did that immediately, deleted it from my computer, and cleared Dreamweaver's cache before trying again. Once more, the new site seemed to upload; however, the most I managed to achieve was a blank, white page where my home page is supposed to be, entitled "Index of /", with a series of little links below it leading to the various pages of my website and the images folder. All of the links work, and I can get right to the home page, as well as the rest of the site with a simple click... but for some reason index.html DOES NOT SHOW UP AS THE HOMEPAGE ASSOCIATED WITH MY DOMAIN NAME. This tells me (maybe?) that something in the filepath is not right, but I have no idea where to start looking for a solution. That was this morning.After turning everything off and just letting it be for a couple of hours, I decided to try again. Now another issue has surfaced. Before I just couldn't get anything to change. Now I am not allowed to do anything wi