xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
travstatesmen

Idea For Using A Cron Job To Grab Daily Travian Map.sql Updates I want to build a library of resources for my clan members.

Posted Image

Here is an idea that I have been toying with for a while now, and I'd really appreciate some help with it, as I'm not a great coder. I can get by, and will probably work out the intricacies of implementing this, all by myself, but it is going to take me quite a long time. I'd really appreciate some help with making this happen, so that I can use it on my upcoming Xisto website.

The MMOG that I am playing, Travian, creates a daily update file, which is essentially just an SQL file full of INSERT commands, that is made available to the public daily. Travian can be played on multiple servers, and there are also country-specific servers, and they all produce these map.sql files each day. For instance, if I am playing on the first international server then I can grab the SQL data from http://forums.xisto.com/no_longer_exists/ whereas, if I were playing on the fourth Australian server, I would use http://s4.travian.com.au/, or for the second Hungarian server I would use http://forums.xisto.com/no_longer_exists/, etc.

These map.sql files are already being used for some pretty complex things by other websites. For instance, there are Travian World Analyzers, that allow you to query the data over a period of time and see how players have progressed, which Alliances they have moved to, how fast their villages are growing, etc. Some websites use the map.sql files to generate a forum signature image that automatically updates with daily stats. Some are using the map.sql data to generate on-the-fly graphical maps of the Travian worlds, plotting on grids the locations of the villages. It is really useful to have a collection of these map.sql files. I want to get some for my new website on Xisto.