xisto Community
Mermaid711

Does Anyone Know Where I Can Get A Decent Camera For Making A Movie On A 13 Year Old's Budget?

Hi guys.Me and a couple of friends are going to produce "Anne Frank and Me" as soon as we find the copyright avalibilties (hopefully it is in the public domain)Anywayssssssssss, we already have a couple of places lined up to film or, well, in our case, tape onto a digital camera, so we really need to know what we can get.Most of my friends have digital cameras, most with video capabilities. Also, are there any movie editing programs that are cheap or free that i can use?

If you have a mac, or some friend does, I recommend you using iMovie. Besides that I can't give you good counseling about cameras because I have no big knowledge about them xD. But if you want to edit a movie, iMovie is the program you seek.But if you are willing to get a videocamera, look in ebay, or similar. they're cheap when used.

Don't use the video cameras on phones or digital cameras - it won't come out very well at all. Like other people have suggested, eBay and other auction sites are good for looking for a second hand digital camera. Just make sure you get one with a digital output (USB, IEEE 1394, etc.) so you can take it onto the computer at full quality. There is always the possibility of hiring a camera if you want. However, that can get expensive if you are not doing the filming in one block over a few days.

As for editing software, there are some free ones out there. Cinelerra is my favourite, and it works very well. If you're a Mac user then iMovie is OK. Just remember that you will need a fairly powerful PC to handle the editing smoothly.