xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
leiaah

Untangling Other Peoples Codes... Sheesh

So I graduated and I got a job, right? I just finished my three-month training and I was immediately thrusted into actual work. I have a degree in IT and I got a job as a programmer, well sort of, it's more like an application implementor. Anyways, what I do is I implement a system that someone else developed. That someone else doesn't know anything about table normalization. Not that I'm an expert at normalization but it's just so freakin annoying the way tables have 46 fields and I have to guess which field is for what. Grrr! The system is coded in VB and he uses stored procedures in SQL Server. He doesn't give a d*mn if his system is so freakin slow when deployed in a network, he just thinks he's so high and mighty by doing that freakin system. His codes are soooo freakin disorganized that I grit my teeth everytime I have to look into it. It's a miracle how he got it to work. The worse thing about it is I have to customize the freakin system to fit the needs of the clients here. I probably wouldn't mind if I understand his code since I know the flow of the system already but I can't freakin decipher his work! It's like untangling an extremely tight knot. I know it's my job and I get paid for it and I'm probably just whining but aaaah! Deep breaths and counting to ten doesn't work for me anymore. :)

Ah programming! didn't he put any documentation?or comments? i have to agree, it's hard to read code that's undocumented. How about trying to put comments yourself? I mean, you work with the code many times, so put some comments in it so the next time you read it, you wouldn't have to grit your teeth again.