xisto Community
Ahsaniqbalkmc

Unboxing My New Raspberry Pi

As I have repeatedly mentioned, I am a medical student but i have huge enthusiasm for computers and stuff. As a result, I spend more time on my computer than doing what I am expected to do.... :(

As a result of this enthusiasm, I occasionaly try to get my hands on the new stuff. Raspberry pi is not quite "NEW" but it is difficult to obtain, especially in areas where there aren't many official distributors. I had a wish to get it as soon as possible after the release of 512mb version but I didn't have the means to pay for it.

Luckily, I found out that a store in another city has a few of these devices in stock. They have an online ordering faciltiy (online store) where I ordered the device. The price was an issue because they were demanding more than twice the actual price of the device, but as I had no other options, I decided to pay the extra money.

So after two days of ordering, I received my device via a local courier service:

Posted Image

The packaging was minimal (as is all over the world). Inside the envelope, there was an invoice and the Raspberry pi in its own very minimal packagin:

Posted Image

As it can be clearly seen in the invoice, the amount I paid for the pi was PKR 6600... This is about $66 which is about double the price set by the original distributors. But when choices are limited, you have to pay extra..

So the box containing the raspberry pi clearly stated element14.com on it. I think they are one of the official distributors of the device and realted to Farnell.. But i don't care because I had no chance of buying directly from them.

The box looks like this:

Front:

Posted Image

Back:

Posted Image

So the packaging is very minimal (as is the raspberry pi itself). Inside, there was the raspberry pi itself and an instructions leaflet. See images below:

Posted Image

Posted Image