xisto Community
JJBDude

The "lol" Phrase

This phrase bugs me. I don't like it when people on Instant Messengers type LOL (which means laugh out loud) but don't actually laugh out loud. I do it too because it is a annoying habbit which I got off of practically everyone I talk to on MSN. So, I decided to make the phrase "sl" uop which means seriously laughing. Now if you ever seriously laugh in a conversation then remember this thread and type sl instead of lol. :)

JJB, you have to think of a more catchy phrase. Lol, lmao, wtf etc are all catchy. Think of something more catchy than SL and post it on here.

Well I have been using it for a few months now and it is okay and I have started getting my contacts to use it. I did think of cc for chuckles but I don't think that is very good. I will stick to sl and eventually everyone in the world will use it. :)

I don't see myself using "sl" anywhere in the future because personally, I think using an acronym for the best medicine on earth is wrong. When someone on AIM or Xisto makes me laugh, I just type "haha", and if they REALLY make me laugh, then I append more "ha"'s to said phrase.:)

I must agree with this, the phrase "lol" has completely lost it's actaul meaning, even things that aren't funny, people wil add "lol" to it. Which is why we have "lmao" and "rolf", hehe lol (oops).

I really do laugh out loud when I read something funny- even though it annoys everyone. But, like snlildude, I usually type out ha's or sometimes hee's. Sometimes when I want to be sarcastic, I'll type something like, "LMBFBOWR(etc)!!!" and nobody ever calls me on it. :)

Meh, I'm one of those people. In AOL I use "hahaha" to say if something's funny, but if something really makes me laugh, really hard, I'll say, "LOL!!"o_o

when i very first got online ever i use to think it meant lol as in the way its pronounced if you say it like a word haha. but now ive learned, i never found out til my friend asked me why do you keep typing lol. lol