xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
Logan Deathbringer

Need Help With Mambo With Smf Integration wrapping SMF and installing to Mambo

Ok I'm new to Mambo and want to put up my SMF Forum on my new site and need help coming up with a "wrapped" version of SMF and then a good bridge for it to Mambo and help getting it all done/setup. If anyone could help me with this I would be very grateful.

If you are using SMF then I assume you have tried PHPbb too ? I personally like PHPbb, but havent tried out SMF, tough many people out there prefer SMF. But incase you want a CMS with a inbuilt forum, then i'd suggest you e107. No , m not promoting lol .. just liked the CMS cause of its fast support and nice features. Check it out, it may be worth your time :)

Regards
Dhanesh.

well I found a good bridge at that link but now that I have it installed I had a parsing error so I uninstalled it cause I think I did the install wrong and then went back to install it but now it is saying that the directory that the componant is trying to install to is in use by another component and I can't delete the directory's in the admin/component or /component/ directories manualy, tells me direct access denied. Even when I try to delete through the cpanel file manager.Anyone know how I can fix this problem without having to reinstall mambo? I would hate to have to start from the ground up again. Thanks in advance for all the help and thanks to those that have already helped me out.

Well, I just tried to do the same install with the most recent version of Mambo and SMF 1.1 RC1 I got install errors on the Mambo-SMF Forum 1.3.0 final for the SMF Package installer. I can only assume that the bridge is not compatible with SMF 1.1 RC1.

Went back to mamboforge.net and checked for the newest version of the bridge and downloaded it.

Mambo-SMF Forum 1.3.3 has been installed and is working fine now. I'll need to do some more testing but I should be ok.