xisto Community
mrdee

A Question About The Php Mail() Function

I run PHP 5.2.17 on my laptop (so, a local machine).

In the php.ini file, the functions for mail and smtp say the following (for as far as I know, as i am a PHP novice):

[mail function]; For Win32 only.SMTP = localhostsmtp_port = 25; For Win32 only.;sendmail_from = frankied[at]****music.plus.com; For Unix only.  You may supply arguments as well (default: "sendmail -t -i").;sendmail_path =; Force the addition of the specified parameters to be passed as extra parameters; to the sendmail binary. These parameters will always replace the value of; the 5th parameter to mail(), even in safe mode.;mail.force_extra_parameters =

I don't know what I need to change, also, I changed the original to my own email address (here masked out for security reasons), but that line is still commented.

I also uploaded two scripts, one called mail.php, code below:
<?php$to = "fd******[at]gmail.com";$subject = "Test mail";$message = "Hello! This is a simple email message.";$from = "webbie[at]v****-f******.org.**";$headers = "From:" . $from;mail($to,$subject,$message,$headers);echo "Mail Sent.";?>

Once again, i have masked my email address for security reasons.

and mailform.php, code below:

<html>
<body>
<?phpif (isset($_REQUEST['email']))//if "email" is filled out, send email  {  //send email  $email = $_REQUEST['webbie[at]vl***-f********.org.**'] ;  $subject = $_REQUEST['Proberen'] ;  $message = $_REQUEST['Ratatatatatatatataaaaaaaaaaaaaa'] ;  mail("fde*******[at]gmail.com", "$subject",  $message, "From:" . $email);  echo "Thank you for using our mail form";  }else//if "email" is not filled out, display the form  {  echo "<form method='post' action='mailform.php'>  Email: <input name='email' type='text' /><br />  Subject: <input name='subject' type='text' /><br />  Message:<br />  <textarea name='message' rows='15' cols='40'>  </textarea><br />  <input type='submit' />  </form>";  }?></body></html>