xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
Baniboy

My Music Profile WARNING: contains boring information about me

Replying to this post which is on another thread plus a little more pointless information I'll post here and NOT EARN MYCENTS FOR IT:

That last sentence sounds quite interesting to me.
At the risk of going off-topic:

Do you play any particular style?
I am always interested in talking to a fellow musician, I am a professional musician who has worked all over Western Europe.
I was classically trained (in my day you had no choice), with the organ as main instrument, but then I started playing popular music and got an interest in jazz too.

After playing on my own (as an organist) for years, I then started putting my groups together, I used to have a Dixieland group (I played piano in that, and when we did street parades I played trombone or bass tuba) and I also had my jazz trio (piano, bass, drums) and jazz quartet (trio with addition of sax, trumpet or vocals).

In the last 12 years or so, I have not performed that much, as I have been doing more work in music education (teaching privately, teaching in secondary schools and colleges).

I must say I sometimes miss going on the road, but none of us get any younger.

I would love it, though, if I could find something like doing a cocktail lounge job in a hotel (some cool, easy-listening stuff), or get a Dixieland Band up and running again.
That is why I am organising auditions now, and if I find suitable people, I might well get started again.

Another ambition I have, though, is one in education: since I have taught at almost all levels, I would very much like to end up lecturing at university, but you have to be very lucky to work your way in there, it is often a case of "It is not what you know, but WHO you know".

But, anyway, let me know what kind of music you play, what you are interested in, and what you want to achieve with music.