xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
Nik

Asp.net & Oracle Connectivity Can I connect ASP.NET with Oracle 11g

Actually I am new in this ASP.NET programming. Can I use Oracle 11g software for connecting database to the ASP.NETI want to make e-shopping website and My database contains huge data so I opted for Oracle 11g. So can I connect ASP.NET to Oracleif yes then give me code to connect it.

Sure you can! I hooked up my ASP.NET application to an Oracle 11g database and it's heavily integrated with the Oracle database such that I can't pull it apart and hook it up to another database right now.

What? ASP.NET doesn't work with Oracle? OMG! Hang on, I've got to go cancel my order for a new pair of JBL speakers... I'm not getting my paycheck till the application I built works and this is going to take a whole re-write of my code.... No, not really, just kidding! ASP.NET does work with Oracle and my paycheck is on its way.

So, anyway, back to hooking up ASP.NET to Oracle. When I installed the Oracle database (I didn't settle for the Express edition cheapness... I went all the way and installed the real deal, since we had a development license lying around someplace), I got the database server and all the client libraries to go with it, and that includes the ODP.NET (Oracle Data Provider for .NET) and ODAC (Oracle Data Access Components?).

After installing all the needful (the Oracle database, ODAC, and ODP.NET), you have to add a reference to the Oracle data access library (Add Reference through Visual Studio and select Oracle.DataAccess... if it is not in the Global Assembly Cache, browse for it and select Oracle.DataAccess.dll).