xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
rob86

Ghost Recon 2 Advanced Warfighter - Disappointing

I thought Ghost Recon 2 looked like my kind of game. I love challenging tactical shooters. When I first tried it, I was impressed. Fine outdoor setting, fun gadgets. That was until I started playing the game. What a disappointment. There is so much wrong with the game it is barely enjoyable. First and most importantly, the AI is just about the worst I've ever seen. You control a squad of elite soldiers. Professional shooting range targets more like it. I've never seen AI teammates so unintelligent. Problem #1. None of them seem even capable of shooting an animal, let alone be an elite soldier. I can order the entire team to go around the side of a building, a single enemy soldier looking in the opposite direction, oblivious to the world. My team will round the corner, stand there as if they were blind, and the enemy still shoots them before they do anything. This is on "Assault" rules of engagement. Problem #2. The "Attack" order is completely useless. I like using my squad to do tasks, so sometimes I order my elite sniper to take out a target. I can put them in direct view of the enemy with a perfect line of sight, and they will not fire. Don't even dream that they might actually position themselves in a position where they can see the enemy themselves. It isn't going to happen. They don't even return fire half the time. Problem #3. Vehicles are even more moronic than the squad. You can order them to a place not so far away, and they'll flip themselves over and render themselves useless for the mission.Problem #4. Some missions have serious bugs. At the beginning of one mission, your squad is dropped from a helicopter on a bridge. Immediately after the drop, your squad gets shot up by enemy machine gunners before you even have 1 second to order them to safety. What the heck?Problem #5. Restarting a level is DIFFICULT. You would think they'd know how to give you an opt