xisto Community
mm22

Why Is Gmail Still Beta? whats the policy behind keeping a beta version

I've been using GMail for almost three years, probably got it a few months after it was launched. I like it very much, the most out of all webmail systems I've tried.When I started using it I was thinking "OK, that beta will be dropped soon", then I got used to seeing the logo that way. Now I wonder what's the reason to keep the "beta" indication? Is it some sort of disclaimer ("if it loses your mail it's your problem") or just that people got used to it and removing it would mean losing users ("mmm it may soon become a paid service..", I know that doesn't make sense)? or maybe they just have better stuff to do than thinking about that?More in general, how does a piece of software loses its status of "beta"? is it totally up to the developer? are there any standards developers have agreed upon?

Lol, I was wondering that too after using gmail for a while......I think that gmail forgot all about it~!! =) I am not sure......I was just thinking.