xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
darran

Protecting A Directory From Deliberate Access how do i do it?

I am a noob when it comes to hosting stuff. I want to protect my files I have hosted, but I am not sure how to go about doing this. I want to host all my J2ME source code in that particular directory but at the same time, I do not want people to simply access the page and then take the file as they please. I have seen this kind of security measure when you type a certain directory folder e.g. http://forums.xisto.com/no_longer_exists/ he would not be able to get a file listing directory but instead, an error message. Can someone guide me on how to achieve this?

Right ok, You can either:

1. Have a password popup

To do this:

In cPanel click "Web Protect", then select the folder. At the top it will have a check box and an input. Tick the check box and in the input put what you want it like it to say then click "Save". Next at the bottom, where it says "Add New User" there are two inputs. Put what you want your username to be and in the other the password. Then click "Add New User". To test what you have just done, open up the folder in a web browser and a password popup should come up.

2. Forbidden

Right this isn't as good, as I believe people can access your files if they type the full URL to the file in. But just the folder and it will show up "403 Forbidden" error.

To do this:

In cPanel click "Index Manager". Click the directory you wish to protect and then on the next page click "No Indexes". That will protect the directory. Go to it in a web browser to validate that it works.

-Tom

Your Cpanel has the capability for you to set / define Custom error pages. Check that out. Also, check the security re-driects available by using the .htaccess file.