xisto Community
cragllo

How Do I Overclock My Processor? Im a newbie at all this.

I have:

Processor: AMD Athlon XP 2300+ (2.2Ghz)

Motherboard: ASUS XSeries A7N8X-X

BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG

So I just want to know how to overclock my processor, possibly just via the BIOS or jumber settings, but im happy with "fiddling" with the hardware. Step by step PLEASE :P

one question....why would u want to over clock it so that you ruin it! computers were not made to destroy they were made to help everyone learn information and do different things...why would u want to over clock it...thats rediculous...

See, here is my sitiuation, Im skint, I cant afford to but a realy fast processor, but i can afford water cooling. And I play alot of hardware-demanding games. And to experience games as they should be, playing doom at 800x600 with lag is not scary at all!Is you can pirate hardware like you can softweare then... I would do that, but no. that not possible (yet, we need particle copiers :P)Anyhoo, i need as much joice as I can get to play :P

If you can't afford a new processor I wouldn't try this. I taught my friend how to overlock a processor thinking that he was going to try on one of his older computers but he did it to his new one and was out just under $1000 to replace the motherboard and the processor. Even with lots of cooling you can still fry a processor. When you overclock it becomes unstable and unpredictable. Also, if anything gets damaged by this warranties won't cover it.