xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
arcanistherogue

How Do I Switch From Gnome To Kde? Ubuntu Linux

Hey. I use Windows mainly, as I use games and graphical programs the most. However, I use Linux a bit, just for programming and other things like that. I'm not that good at programming and linux though ;_;...Well, I decided that the main reason I don't like to use it is that it looks so alien, and I hate how GNOME looks. I hear that if I move to KDE I'll be sacrificing some performance or whatnot. I have this really crazy linux zealot friend who preaches the linux gospel to me, and will attempt to beat down any reason why I like Windows. I would ask him, but he would probably go crazy and tell me facts why GNOME is better and how stupid I am for choosing KDE, but I really don't care for that. That's why I am asking it here.I don't know too much, so a walk-through of sorts would be appreciated...Thanks to anyone who helps or provides links.Also, is there a way for me to change the font in linux? To perhaps Tahoma or Verdana? I love both Win XP and Mac OS X, and bringing these fonts to linux would be great.

If you have previously installed both environments Gnome and KDE you can switch between them as m^e said. You can switch between them also at login (if you use the graphic interface, just choose KDE instead of Gnome in login screen, if you're using text login screen, then all you have to do is when you have logged in your computer to type kde) If you didn't installed KDE, than you have to go to the RPM upgrading section or whatever is it called and choose from the installation cd-s KDE environment to install, put the corisponding cd/dvd in your drive and instal it. Then you can switch to KDE. Hope it helps

KDE is the right platform for those users who use Linux for development purposes...GNOME is more suitable for general usage. AND GNOME REALLY IS BAD!!-reply by Sourodeep