xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
Jeigh1405241495

C++ Template Coding Conundrum...

I have no clue if this is even possible, but it seems like it should be so I figured I'd check if any of you guys knew a way to do it. I'm somewhat new to c++ so I'm kinda learning templates as I go for this job I'm at currently and my supervisor wants me to look into if this can be done this way.Alright, so basically currently I'm using templates to handle file handling for a bunch of custom file types we have in a piece of software (basically just different data layouts that need to be handled accordingly). Now currently I have it set up so the template is given a filetype class which allows the template to call the appropriate classes handling methods.That all works perfectly fine, the problem arises when I want to have a unified container for all these templates. Even something like an array would be fine I just want to be able to access all the files in a single container rather then having to pass pointers all over the program to these various files. Normal containers don't seem to be viable, however, since you need to predefine the class the template would use when declaring the array (Ex. a container of file<type1> will only be a container of type1 , not type2, type3, etc. I would need to be able to store like file<> and have it able store all types).It feels like there should hypothetically be a fairly simple way to do this, I don't know if I'm just unaware of a certain way of doing it since I don't know alot of the less common things about c++/templates or if I'm just missing something really obvious heh. Well, any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated, thanks.