xisto Community
Sign in to follow this  
Webber

Karate A little bit of a backgroud to it..

Karate through and through

Karate can be summed up as 'a martial art of Ryūkyūan origin. It developed from a synthesis of indigenous Ryukyuan fighting methods and southern Chinese martial arts. Karate originally meant Tang hand, i.e. Chinese hand, which was later changed to a homonym meaning 'empty hand' in Japanese. It is known primarily as a striking art, featuring punching, kicking, knee/elbow strikes and open handed techniques. However, grappling, joint manipulations, locks, restrains, throws and vital point striking appear in many styles of Karate.' (Wikipedia).

As a teacher and as a martial artist, Karate plays a major roll in my overall fight style. I've been practicing Shotokan Karate myself for over 7 years now, and the style of combat that it encourages is without a doubt my personal favourite. Karate is an all round combat system, comprising of kicks, strikes, elbows, knees and open hand (knife hand) blocks and techniques, however it does encorporate many other styles of fighting. It's a complete art in my opinion. With some other martial arts out there I would not feel comfortable using their techniques without backing in some other areas. For example, except for Combat Judo, all over styles of Judo do not involve strikes, blocks and kicks. It is simply grappling and throws. For me, this would not be enough. Karate promotes solid, strong, quick unstoppable movements of immense force. In my opinion, Karate is by all means one of the most lethal arts that can be executed.