xisto Community
pasten

Creating Common Navigation For A Website: Part 2 Newbies guide to creating common navigation with PHP

Prerequisite: Basics of HTML.

Download example Creating_common_navigation_for_a_website___Part_2.zip (.zip) (needs a php enabled server to view the result of the scripts)

The first part of the tutorial (click here) described the method of creating common navigation for websites using pure html. That was posted almost a year ago. I happened to visit that, and thought to write a second part for it. As the previous article this article too is for absolute newbies guiding them to create a common set of links for a website. But this method uses PHP scripting. If you don't know what is PHP, for time being just know that the method described ahead will work on any free/paid web host offering php. Also don't worry about the php code, just read a basic php tutorial and you will be on the track. If you are php developer then you may also read the latter part of the article and leave your comments about it.

Ok, so let's get started.

1) Firstly, create an html page containing all the links which you want to appear on every page of your website. Name this file as "nav.html". The html code should look something like this:

<p><a href="page1.php">Page 1</a> | <a href="page2.php">Page 2</a> | <a href="page3.php">Page 3</a></p>

You would better link those files as site relative (for example http://forums.xisto.com/no_longer_exists/). This will enable you to create any number of subdirectory combinations.

2) Now create the pages "page1.php", "page2.php" and "page3.php". But... wait, if you are using windows there is a problem in creating those files. So, first select the "Tools" menu, then select "Folder Options...". In the popup box select the "View" tab and uncheck "Hide extensions for known file types", press OK. Now right click anywhere and choose "New" "Text Document" to create the files.